La Société canadienne
de géotechnique
The Canadian
Geotechnical Society
La Société canadienne de géotechnique
The Canadian Geotechnical Society
The Canadian
Rock Mechanics
About the Rock Mechanics Division
The Rock Mechanics Division (RMD) strives to develop, maintain and promote communications and cooperation between practitioners of rock mechanics and geotechnical rock engineering. It provides its members with opportunities to present the results of professional activities by organizing events and activities to facilitate knowledge, experience and information transfer and exchange. It also provides its members with opportunities to upgrade and update their professional knowledge and skills.
Executive Committee
The Executive Committee of the Rock Mechanics Division consists of the following members:
Jonathan Aubertin
École de Technologie Supérieure, Montréal, QC
Jennifer Day
Queen’s University, Kingston, ON
Past Chair
Mohsen Nicksiar
SNC-Lavalin Inc., Burnaby, BC
Vice Chair
Ghasem Shams
Université de Sherbrooke,
Sherbrooke, QC
Eliane Cabot
Davide Elmo
University of British Columbia,
Vancouver, BC
Biao Li
Concordia University, Montréal, QC
Wenbo Zheng
University of Northern British Columbia,
Prince George, BC

Latest News

Josephine Morgenroth won the 2023 Doug Stead PhD Thesis Award. For more information on the award, please refer to the CARMA Website.

RMD, in collaboration with CIM’s Rock Engineering Society, will launch a new Webinar series covering rock mechanics, rock engineering, and practical case studies. The first webinar will be held on September 29th. Details of the webinar and link to registration will follow shortly.

The Annual General Assembly will be held during GeoSaskatoon. Details on how to join online will be shared via the E-News and updated on the website at a later time.

Project and initiatives

A number of projects and initiatives are underway. Below is a list of ongoing work and initiatives with RMD:

  1. Rock Mechanics Student Design Competition.
  2. A best rock mechanics paper will be awarded at the annual CGS conference. The first recipient will be designated at GeoSaskatoon.
  3. Rock Mechanics Webinar, in collaboration with RES and CARMA. The current format will follow a quarterly online webinar. The first event will be held on September 29th.
  4. Rock engineer undergraduate scholarship, in collaboration with CARMA.
  5. Geotechnique Magazine article.
  6. Rock Mechanics Workshop at GeoMontreal in 2024.


Affiliations with Other Organizations

The Rock Mechanics Division is affiliated with the Canadian Rock Mechanics Association (CARMA). CARMA is the Canadian representative of the International Society of Rock Mechanics (ISRM). Becoming a member of the CGS Rock Mechanics Division automatically makes you a member of CARMA and the ISRM. CARMA members have access to past conference proceedings and other material through the CARMA website. Benefits given to ISRM members include:

  • 1 copy of the ISRM News Journal
  • ISRM Newsletter
  • Access to the members area in the website (download of Suggested Methods and Reports, Rock Mechanics lectures, videos, slide collection, etc.)
  • Right to participate in the ISRM Commissions
  • Registration with a 20% discount in the ISRM Congress, International and Regional Symposia and Specialized Conferences
  • Personal subscription to the International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Sciences at a discounted price (see details).
  • Personal subscription to the Journal Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering at a discounted price.
  • Free download of up to 100 papers per year from the ISRM Digital Library at OnePetro.


If you are a CGS Rock Mechanics member and have not received your access information from CARMA and the ISRM, please contact admin@cgs.ca


For more information about CARMA, refer to the website http://www.carma-rocks.ca/


John A. Franklin Award

Established in 1993, the Award honours the past President of the International Society for Rock Mechanics (ISRM), John A. Franklin, for his outstanding contributions to the Canadian and international rock mechanics community, and to the Canadian Geotechnical Society. 

The award recognizes an individual who has recently made an outstanding and published technical contribution in the fields of rock mechanics or rock engineering in Canada and/or internationally. The eligibility for the award is restricted to either CGS members (need not be resident in Canada) or other individuals, resident in Canada, who have provided an outstanding service to the Canadian geotechnical community.


John A. Franklin Award presented in odd-numbered years.

Previous Recipients of the John A. Franklin Award

 1994 P.K. Kaiser
 1996 Derek Martin
 1998 Maurice Dusseault
 1999 Michel Aubertin
 2001 John Hadjigeorgiou
 2003 Jean Hutchinson
 2005 R. Paul Young
 2007 Mark S. Diederichs
 2009 Douglas Stead
 2011 Peter F. Stacey
 2013 Erik Eberhardt
 2015 Hani Mitri
 2017 Ming Cai
 2019 Giovanni Grasselli
2021 Rick Chalaturnyk

The Division Executive Committee met on June 7, 2021 to prepare for the Spring 2021 Membership Meeting on June 9th, 2021.

Latest News
Reports / Documents
Upcoming Events


Please contact the Rock Mechanics Division at info@cgs.ca if you have any comments or suggestions.